How to factory reset your Android phone before selling it?

0


When planning to buy or set up a new phone, it’s important to properly reset your old Android phone before you sell or trade it in.

After transferring and creating a backup of all your essential data like contacts, pictures, videos, personal chats, documents, and other data to the new phone, make sure to sign out of your personal accounts before you reset everything and then put the device. to a factory reset setting.

If you are unable to properly sign out and delete accounts and reset your phone, you may miss new incoming messages and factory reset protection on Android phones may lock out buyers even after the device has been deleted.

How do I log out of all accounts?

First of all, you need to manually delete all the accounts you logged in with like WhatsApp, Twitter, MS Office, etc. To do this, you can go to “Settings”, then “Accounts” and delete each account one by one. Then log out of your Google account. This step will stop any new synchronization on your old phone. Now, it’s time for the factory reset.

How to factory reset your Android phone?

Before starting this process, remove any MicroSD card and your SIM card from the device.

Step 1: Go to the ‘Settings’ of your device.

2nd step: Search for “Reset” and then click “Factory data reset” among the searched items.

Step 3: Now allow the reset and let the phone complete the cleaning and wiping process and then reboot.

Step 4: Once this process is complete, the Android home screen will be displayed upon restart. This will allow the new user to log in with their own credentials.

Point to note: The process is slightly different for different phones. For example, on a Samsung Galaxy S21, the user should go to Settings> General Management> Reset and then select “Factory data reset” before scrolling down and hitting “Reset” and “Delete all”.

READ MORE: How to Transfer Whatsapp Chat Backup from iPhone to Android: Everything You Need to Know


Share.

Leave A Reply